Some Like It Deep (Blue)

March 13, 2012

For this project, I wanted to create vessels that worked with layers, hidden depths and movement. I took inspiration from the landscapes I have been luck enough to see, in particular the French Alps and New Zealand. I wanted to preserve the simplicity and purity of naked porcelain, as well as highlight its beautiful qualities with the use of glazes. I have learnt so many things during this project, and have developed a greater understanding of porcelain, its properties, and I have grown to love and respect it. The Shellac resist technique that I started off experimenting with led to an entire body of work that I am more than pleased with.

Oceanic Depths

I wanted the interior of these vessels to resemble glacial ice, but instead I find myself thinking of the deepest of oceans beneath the Arctic ice. The turquoise glaze grows lighter towards the top, with crystal like navy flecks in the base.

Deeper Blue

I chose this glaze to draw attention to the interiors of the vessels and to contrast the simple white dolomite glaze that highlights the mountain ranges.

Warped Bowl

During the firing process this bowl took on an ovoid shape.

Deep Within

I wanted the mountains to appear to rise from an icy lake or a distant shoreline, the sun catching on the snowy peaks. I tore the rim of the bowl to follow and reflect the undulating currents and the movement of the landscapes from which I took inspiration.

3 Responses to “Some Like It Deep (Blue)”

  1. Liz Daish Says:

    Hi Sophie

    I’ve very much enjoyed seeing your latest work and look forward to seeing it in reality! Please let us know if you are having an exhibition and we will try and attend.

    Love Liz x

  2. lobophotography Says:

    Just WONDERFUL, Sophie!! Are they for sale?


    • Thank you. Yes they will be for sale once my tutors have assessed my project and I have figured out how to sell them… it is difficult as I am new to this and don’t know where to start in terms of selling, although I think I will use Etsy.


Leave a comment